Transparent Spacer Pixle Transparent Spacer Pixle
VA Space Grant Logo
Red Pixel

The Virginia Space Grant Consortium (VSGC) is a coalition of five Virginia colleges and universities, NASA, state educational agencies, Virginia’s Center for Innovative Technology and other institutions representing diverse aerospace interests. 

VSGC acts as an umbrella organization, coordinating and developing aerospace-related and high technology educational and research efforts throughout the Commonwealth, and connecting Virginia’s effort to a national community of shared aerospace interests.  The VSGC leverages each dollar of NASA support with more than five dollars of state and other funding to offer a wide range of programs and activities in concert with NASA’s national Space Grant goals.

In 1987, a joint congressional study panel met to address a number of issues facing the aerospace industry and the Nation, among them a looming shortage of workers prepared for a high tech workforce and a decline in scholastic achievement, especially in the disciplines of math and science.  Congress was also concerned with building research infrastructure at our Nation’s institutions of higher education.  Congress passed legislation in 1988 which established the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program.  The Virginia Space Grant Consortium received its designation from NASA in 1989. You can visit NASA's National Space Grant website here.

NASA Space Grant Goals

  • Establish state and national networks of universities with capabilities in aerospace-related fields.
  • Promote strong science, math, engineering and technology education from elementary through university levels.
  • Foster workplace development through building the nation's talent pool in science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields.
  • Develop cooperative programs among universities, all levels of government and industry.
  • Build aerospace-related research infrastructure at Virginia’s Space Grant Universities.
  • Recruit women, underrepresented minorities, and the disabled for careers in math, science, engineering and technology.
  • Encourage an interdisciplinary approach to fields relating to aerospace/aeronautics.
  • Enhance public awareness of the benefits of aerospace-related research and exploration.

Dowload the VSGC brochure

Virginia Space Grant Consortium Staff
(All staff can be reached at 757-766-5210 unless otherwise noted)

Mary Sandy
Director
msandy@odu.edu
Chris Carter
Deputy Director
cxcarter@odu.edu
Ian Cawthray
Education Programs Coordinator
icawthra@odu.edu
Janet Dotzauer
Program Specialist
jdotzaue@odu.edu
Brennan Griffith
Media Specialist
bgriffi@odu.edu
Nicole Shaw
Administrative Assistant
lnshaw@odu.edu
Priscilla Hill
Administrative Assistant
aphill@odu.edu
Kelly Wilson
Administrative Assistant
kawilson@odu.edu
Rudo Kashiri
Education Program Manager
rkashiri@odu.edu
Tysha Sandford
STEM Education Specialist
tsanford@odu.edu
Kirsten Manning
STEM Education Programs Specialist
kmanning@odu.edu
Pam Michaels
Accountant
pmichael@odu.edu
Debbie Murray
Program Coordinator
dbmurray@odu.edu
Scott Bellows
Technology Programs Coordinator
abellows@odu.edu
Sarah Pauls
Program Specialist
spauls@odu.edu
Joyce Corriere
STEM Education Programs Specialist jcorrier@odu.edu